Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Carrier or Thermo King

Which is better and why?

Carrier

More reliable, better cooling and easy to work on, have not worked on the few I have for a long time, normal maint. and just add fuel.

Im wonder why THERMOKING sells MORE? I think Its a matter of opinion.I do know THERMOKING has more service centers around the USA,they do an alright Job for me can't complain I have not owned a carrier since they were called TRANCICOLD before CARRIER bought them out. Have had a bunch of thermokings though.
    Rooster

Our company runs alot of both, but more Thermo Kings in the fleet. Now, granted, I'm new to this Reefer stuff (a year) and Just from prior experience, if I had to buy my own trailer and reefer, I'd go with Carrier. In terms of fuel consumption, it seems that Carrier uses less fuel, either running on Start/Stop vs. Continuous than the TK's. However, the Carriers are a bit louder. Another thing I've noticed, that an older Carrier sitting next to an older TK for a few days in colder weather (with an additive added) seems to start up much much easier than the TK's. The TK's spurt and spudder while the Carriers fire right up.

The bad thing with Carrier vs. TK is that if the Carrier has a problem, the alarm lite comes on and thats it. At least with the TK's you can sort of pinpoint the problem, if its a dealer repair thing or something as simple as "the driver before never checked the oil and now its low enough to shut the unit off."

Thats my take...again, I've only been in the Reefer thing for a year.

well I like the thermal king's whisper edition better seems to be more quiet and not as bad on fuel, maybe it's our carrier's are so noisey
    reddog
    beer drinkin pickup truckin gun totin redneck

bettter to have luv'd and lost than to live with a psyco the rest of yer life

San Antonio, Texas- Forever A Place I'm Proud To Call Home.